SummerFest Europe International Singing Competition

OUR EAGERLY ANTICIPATED SECOND YEAR THIS DECEMBER 

Finals 5th December 2014—Verviers, Belgium
Semi-finals for Belgium, France and southern Europe 4th December 2014—Verviers, Belgium
Semi-finals for northern and eastern Europe 3rd December 2014—Maastricht, Netherlands

In Verviers’ great singing competition tradition, SummerFest Europe will hold its second international singing competition final at the Conservatoire de Verviers, Belgium, in December 2014. Young singers from across Europe, including advanced conservatory students and emerging professionals, will come to a semi-final venue and then, if successful, to Verviers to compete for up to four unique prizes: these are not monetary prizes, but ‘all-expenses-paid’ trips for four young singers to travel to the USA and participate in the Pittsburgh USA SummerFest Young Artists Programme 2015, and to take a solo role in a festival opera production. The plain monetary value of these prizes is upwards of 4,000 Euros. The value of the experience and performing opportunities in America that the prizes afford is incalculable.

The prizes include air-fares, accommodation and participation fees in a programme that offers individual voice instruction and coaching with leading professionals, group and masterclasses, and the opportunity to perform in SummerFest productions. Performance activities will include singing in choruses in mainstage works, understudying solo roles, and—perhaps most attractive of all—an appropriate solo role in one of the several productions that take place over the course of the festival. Repertoire for SummerFest USA 2015 will be announced shortly.

Singer

European singers will enjoy an unforgettable experience in one of America’s leading cities, working with other young artists from around the world in a festival run by one of America’s most successful opera companies. European singers will have the advantage of working in an English language environment, and of meeting colleagues from across the United States, Canada and other countries.

Please go to otsummerfest.org to find out more about SummerFest’s Young Artist Program in Pittsburgh.

Concours international de chant lyrique SummerFest Europe

NOTRE DEIXIEME CONCOURS A VERVIERS (BELGIQUE) EN DECEMBRE 2014

Final à Verviers le 5 décembre 2014
Demi-finale pour la Belgique, la France et Europe du sud le 4 décembre 2014 à Verviers Belgique.
Demi-Finale pour nord et Europe de l’est le 3 décembre 2014 au Maastricht Conservatorium le 3 décembre 2014.

Dans la grande tradition des concours de chant à Verviers, SummerFest Europe va organiser son deuxième concours international de chant lyrique au Conservatoire de Verviers en décembre 2014. Des jeunes artistes originaires de toute l’Europe, qu’ils soient toujours au conservatoire ou déjà au début de leur carrière, viendront concourir à Verviers. Quatre prix identiques seront attribués: il ne s’agit pas de prix en termes financiers, mais de la possibilité pour quatre jeunes chanteurs de se rendre aux U.S.A., d’y séjourner, de participer au programme des jeunes artistes de SummerFest à Pittsburgh et enfin d’obtenir un rôle solo dans une production d’opéra. Si la valeur monétaire de chacun des quatre prix est de 4.000.- €, la valeur de l’expérience et des opportunités de se présenter sur scène aux U.S.A. offerte par le prix est incalculable.

Chaque prix comprend les vols, le logement et les frais d’inscription au programme qui propose des cours individuels de chant, de coaching avec des professionnels de renom, des master classes, ainsi que l’opportunité de faire partie des productions de SummerFest. Les activités scéniques comprennent les chants en chœur dans des œuvres complètes, l’étude de rôles solos, et – c’est certainement le plus attrayant - un rôle solo approprié dans une des nombreuses productions qui seront données durant le festival.

Singer

Les chanteurs européens auront l’occasion de vivre une expérience inoubliable dans l’une des principales villes américaines, en travaillant avec d’autres jeunes artistes du monde entier dans un festival mené par l’un des opéras américains les plus couronnés de succès. Le fait que les répétitions ont lieu en anglais et que toutes les œuvres sont interprétées en anglais donnera aux jeunes chanteurs la chance de travailler dans un milieu anglophone et de rencontrer des collègues venant d’Amérique du Nord (U.S.A. et Canada) et d’autres pays.

De plus amples informations concernant le Programme des Jeunes Artistes à Pittsburgh sont disponibles sur le site www.otsummerfest.org.